The mission of the honorary is promotion of the discipline by elevating the standards, ideals, competence and ethics of professionally prepared individuals in Health Education.


Board of Directors

Eta Sigma Gamma is governed by an elected Board of Directors who oversees its’ responsibilities and duties. The elected officers consist of a President, Vice-President, Immediate Past-President, two Professional At-Large members and one Student At-Large Member. The other voting members are appointed by the President, with approval of the Board of Directors. These are the Secretary-Treasurer, Historian, Director of Chapter Development, Editor of The Health Educator, and Editor of The Eta Sigma Gamma Monograph Series. The purpose of the Board of Directors is to carry out the business as described in the By-Laws and Constitution and a regularly updated strategic plan.

Samantha Ortega

Student-at-Large Member
School Texas A&M University Cincinnati OH 45221 United States
Photo of Samantha Ortega

Biographical Info

Samantha Ortega, MEd, CHES is a Doctoral student and Graduate Assistant in the Department of Health and Kinesiology at Texas A&M University. Her research interests include sexual health education, teen pregnancy prevention, and maternal and child health. Samantha earned a Master of Education in Health Education from Texas State University and a Bachelor of Science in Public Health from the University of Texas at San Antonio.

Categories: Board Members
Updated 3 months ago.