The mission of the honorary is promotion of the discipline by elevating the standards, ideals, competence and ethics of professionally prepared men and women in Health Education.

Board of Directors

Eta Sigma Gamma is governed by an elected Board of Directors who oversees its’ responsibilities and duties. The elected officers consist of a President, Vice-President, Immediate Past-President, two Professional At-Large members and one Student At-Large Member. The other voting members are appointed by the President, with approval of the Board of Directors. These are the Secretary-Treasurer, Historian, Director of Chapter Development, Editor of The Health Educator, and Editor of The Eta Sigma Gamma Monograph Series. The purpose of the Board of Directors is to carry out the business as described in the By-Laws and Constitution and a regularly updated strategic plan.

Photo of Denise Seabert , PhD, MCHES

Denise Seabert , PhD, MCHES

Work Chairperson/Professor Department of Physiology & Health Science Ball State University 2000 University Ave Muncie IN 47306 Work Phone: 765-285-1502


Denise Seabert, PhD, MCHES, FASHA, is Professor and Chairperson in the Department of Physiology & Health Science at Ball State University.  Her teaching and scholarship focus on the preparation of school health educators, both preservice and inservice. She is a member of the CDC’s Training Tools for Healthy Schools: Promoting Health and Academic Success national training cadre and has served the profession as a member of NCHEC’s Division Board for Certified Health Education Specialists, past Associate Editor – Teaching Techniques for the Journal of School Health, and the American School Health Association Board of Directors. She recently received ASHA’s Distinguished Service Award and the Ball State University Outstanding Faculty Service Award in recognition of these contributions.

Dr. Seabert received her BAEd in School Health Education from Western Washington University, MS in School and College Health from Indiana University, and PhD in Health Behavior with a minor in Curriculum from the University of Florida.

Travel is a priority for Dr. Seabert and her family.  In Fall 2010, she and her family spent the semester with Ball State students in London – truly a life-changing experience.  Her three boys fill her life with time spent with soccer, swimming, gymnastics, and other fun things growing boys do.  Her favorite place to spend time with her husband and boys is their Michigan lake cottage.