The mission of the honorary is promotion of the discipline by elevating the standards, ideals, competence and ethics of professionally prepared individuals in Health Education.


Board of Directors

Eta Sigma Gamma is governed by an elected Board of Directors who oversees its’ responsibilities and duties. The elected officers consist of a President, Vice-President, Immediate Past-President, two Professional At-Large members and one Student At-Large Member. The other voting members are appointed by the President, with approval of the Board of Directors. These are the Secretary-Treasurer, Historian, Director of Chapter Development, Editor of The Health Educator, and Editor of The Eta Sigma Gamma Monograph Series. The purpose of the Board of Directors is to carry out the business as described in the By-Laws and Constitution and a regularly updated strategic plan.

Alexis A. Blavos , PhD, MCHES

Director of Advocacy
Work Health Department SUNY Cortland PO Box 2000 Moffett Center, Room 105 Cortland NY 13045 Work Phone: 607-753-2984
Photo of Alexis A. Blavos , PhD, MCHES

Biographical Info

Alexis is currently an Assistant Professor and Master Certified Health Education Specialist at SUNY Cortland. Her goal as an educator is to improve the health outcomes of high-risk college students. Dr. Blavos’ academic and work experiences include 10 years of service in the public health field as a practitioner and researcher. She has presented at over 20 conferences, authored or co-authored 15 grants totaling in procurement of $79,900 in funding. She has designed and taught/teaches drug awareness and prevention courses, Prevention and control of disease, Stress Management, Wellness and Health Promotion, and Assessment and Evaluation. Alexis has received numerous awards including Outstanding Health Educator of the Year from Ohio SOPHE, Outstanding Doctoral Student of the Year and Outstanding Graduate Research Presentation both from the University of Toledo, and the Will Rogers Institute Fellowship from AAHE. Dr. Blavos is a lifetime member of Eta Sigma Gamma.

Categories: Board Members