The mission of the honorary is promotion of the discipline by elevating the standards, ideals, competence and ethics of professionally prepared men and women in Health Education.

Board of Directors

Eta Sigma Gamma is governed by an elected Board of Directors who oversees its’ responsibilities and duties. The elected officers consist of a President, Vice-President, Immediate Past-President, two Professional At-Large members and one Student At-Large Member. The other voting members are appointed by the President, with approval of the Board of Directors. These are the Secretary-Treasurer, Historian, Director of Chapter Development, Editor of The Health Educator, and Editor of The Eta Sigma Gamma Monograph Series. The purpose of the Board of Directors is to carry out the business as described in the By-Laws and Constitution and a regularly updated strategic plan.

Photo of Holly T. Moses , PhD, MSHE, CHES

Holly T. Moses , PhD, MSHE, CHES

President, 2018-2020

Dr. Moses is a Lecturer in the Department of Health Education and Behavior (HEB), and serves as the internship coordinator for the HEB undergraduate degree program. Additionally, Dr. Moses is the coordinator for the HEB online MS degree program. Her primary research and instructional areas of interest include: professional preparation and career development for health education majors; health education advocacy; foundations of health education and health promotion; community health; school health; child/adolescent health issues; bullying and cyberbullying; hazing and victimization.…

Keely Rees , MS, PhD, MCHES

Vice President

Coming soon . . .

Photo of Kelly Wilson , PhD, MCHES

Kelly Wilson , PhD, MCHES

Immediate Past President 2018-2020

Associate Professor of Health Education in the Department of Health and Kinesiology at Texas A&M University

Department of Health and Kinesiology
Texas A&M University
MS 4243
College Station, TX 77843

Photo of Denise Seabert , PhD, MCHES

Denise Seabert , PhD, MCHES


Denise Seabert, PhD, MCHES, FASHA, is Professor and Chairperson in the Department of Physiology & Health Science at Ball State University.  Her teaching and scholarship focus on the preparation of school health educators, both preservice and inservice. She is a member of the CDC’s Training Tools for Healthy Schools: Promoting Health and Academic Success national training cadre and has served the profession as a member of NCHEC’s Division Board for Certified Health Education Specialists, past Associate Editor – Teaching Techniques for the Journal of School Health, and the American School Health Association Board of Directors.…

Amanda Lynch


Coming soon . . .

Photo of Jeff Housman , Ph.D

Jeff Housman , Ph.D


Information not yet available. Please check back soon.

Skye McDonald

Student-at-Large Member

Coming soon . . .

Photo of F. Jeannine Everhart , PhD, MPH, MBA, CHES

F. Jeannine Everhart , PhD, MPH, MBA, CHES

Chair of Technology

Photo of Elisa “Beth” McNeill , PhD, CHES

Elisa “Beth” McNeill , PhD, CHES

Director of Chapter Development

Elisa Beth McNeill is a Clinical Associate Professor of Pedagogy in the Department of Health and Kinesiology at Texas A&M University. She serves as the coordinator of the Health Teacher Certification Program. Beth is a 30 year teaching veteran with teaching experience at the secondary level teaching science and working with pregnant and parenting adolescents and has earned her principal’s certificate.…

Photo of Alexis A. Blavos , PhD, MCHES

Alexis A. Blavos , PhD, MCHES

Director of Advocacy

Alexis is currently an Assistant Professor and Master Certified Health Education Specialist at SUNY Cortland. Her goal as an educator is to improve the health outcomes of high-risk college students. Dr. Blavos’ academic and work experiences include 10 years of service in the public health field as a practitioner and researcher. She has presented at over 20 conferences, authored or co-authored 15 grants totaling in procurement of $79,900 in funding.

Photo of E. Lisako J. McKyer , Ph.D., MPH

E. Lisako J. McKyer , Ph.D., MPH

Editor, The Health Education Monograph

E. Lisako J. McKyer, Ph.D., MPH is an Associate Professor in the Department of Health & Kinesiology, and is the director of the Transdisciplinary Center for Health Equity Research (TCHER) at Texas A&M University.  She holds joint appointments in the College of Public Health and the College of Medicine.  She earned her BA in psychology from California State University, Northridge where she was awarded a NIH-funded research fellowship. …

Photo of Sheila M. Patterson , PhD

Sheila M. Patterson , PhD

Editor, The Health Educator

Dr. Sheila M. Patterson assumed the role of Editor for The Health Educator in June 2012. She was introduced to Eta Sigma Gamma while an undergraduate at Mankato State University (MN). She received a MS and a PhD in Health Education from Southern Illinois University where she was an active member of the Alpha Alpha Chapter of ESG.…

Photo of Alan Sofalvi , PhD

Alan Sofalvi , PhD


Alan Sofalvi was appointed Historian of Eta Sigma Gamma in 2016. He is an Assistant Professor of Health at SUNY Cortland, where he has taught since 1997 and serves as one of the faculty advisers of Kappa Chapter. His research interests focus on media coverage of health topics and on the history of health education. Dr.…

Photo of Julie Soules

Julie Soules

Executive Director

The Executive Director oversees the strategic and operational responsibility of the Honorary; manages all revenues and expenses; communicates with the Board, membership, chapter advisors, and vendors; and provides leadership to a growing national health education honorary.