2016 Award Winners

Teaching Activity Award, Gamma Eta, University of Cincinnati
Service Activity Award, Alpha Lambda, University of Florida
Service Activity Award, Delta Xi, University of Alabama
Advocacy Activity Award, Beta Phi, University of Wisconsin La Crosse
Research Activity Award, NONE

Chapter Excellence Award, Alpha Lambda, University of Florida
Chapter Achievement Award, Gamma Eta, University of Cincinnati
Chapter Recognition Award, Delta Xi, University of Alabama

Founder’s Award, Tiffany Sleek, Alpha Lambda, University of Florida
Gamman of the Year, Sarah Chaffee, Delta Xi, University of Alabama
Honor Award, SOPHE (2016)
John P. McGovern, M.D. National Scholarship Award, Sarah E. Pember, Delta Xi, University of Alabama
Outstanding Chapter Sponsor of the Year Award, Dr. Jen Nickelson, Delta Xi, University of Alabama
Robert J. Synovitz Distinguished Service Award, Dr. Debra L. Sutton, Sigma, James Madison University
W.E. Schaller Presidential Citation, Dr. Irene O’Boyle, Eta, Central Michigan University
Mohammad R. Torabi Best Student Paper, Cedric Harville II, University of Florida

Rachel Benn, Illinois State University
McKenna Bireley, Ball State University
Danielle Bolling, Indiana University – Bloomington
Tamara Boulter, The College at Brockport-SUNY
Jasmine S. Corsetti, Idaho State University
Carissa Crews,   University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Theresa Janice Curington, North Carolina Central University
Lindsey Day, University of Scranton
Amber Dellich, University of Florida
Bianca Derrick, Hofstra University
Shelby Dragoo, Texas A&M University
Amy Ford, Malone University
Sara A. Gardner, SUNY Buffalo State
Danielle Gilmore, University of Central Oklahoma
Corinne Goodall, Southern IL University, Edwardsville
Kari Rose Gottfried, Liberty University
Summer Grounds, Boise State University
Whitney Huston, University of North Florida
Jorie Ann Lima, Western Illinois University
Jaclyn Mancos, Central Michigan University
Pa Houa Moua, Minnesota State University
Dominica Norris, University of North Carolina
Briana O’Shaughnessy, SUNY – Cortland
Courtney Shows, University of Alabama
Sheridan Stanley, University of North Carolina – Wilmington
Bethany Starry, University of Wisconsin – LaCrosse
Sonali Thapa, Towson University
Michael Brackett, University of Cincinnati


Sleep and Stress Among Undergraduates: Are There Differences by Gender, Age, or Race? – Victoria Lambert (Coastal Carolina University)

Effect of a mental health and a financial wellness intervention on level of self-determination and financial capability of youth and young adults with disabilities – Emma Staecker (Truman State University)

Polio Eradication in Nigeria: Lessons for the Global Polio Eradication Program and other Vaccination Programs – Teminijesu Ige (University of Cincinnati)

Combining Testimonials, Student Organizations, and Campus Resources to Stomp Out the Stigma of Mental Illness: A Panel Program Evaluation – Liliana Rojas-Guyler (University of Cincinnati)


Invest Your Time with ESG and Invest in Your Future – Jodi Brookins-Fisher (Central Michigan University)

Leadership Opportunities for the Chapter Sponsor:  Preparing Future Health Educators through Eta Sigma Gamma Membership – Jodi Brookins-Fisher (Central Michigan University)

The Importance of Cultural Competence in Pre-Professional Health Programs – Joanna DeMarco (Cleveland State University)

Raising the minimum age to purchase tobacco related products: Recommendations for collaboration and advocacy for ESG and SOPHE Chapters. – Amy Thompson (University of Toledo)