2017 Award Winners

Teaching Activity Award, Nu, Indiana University
Service Activity Award, Delta Xi, University of Alabama
Service Activity Award, Alpha Lambda, University of Florida
Advocacy Activity Award, Beta Phi, University of Wisconsin La Crosse
Research Activity Award, Gamma Eta, University of Cincinnati

Chapter Excellence Award, Alpha Lambda, University of Florida
Chapter Excellence Award, Gamma Eta, University of Cincinnati
Chapter Achievement Award, none
Chapter Recognition Award, Delta Xi, University of Alabama
Chapter Recognition Award, Epsilon Xi, Salisbury University

Founder’s Award, Whitney Thornton, Gamma Upsilon, Georgia Southern University
John P. McGovern, M.D. National Scholarship Award, Brittany Schambow, Alpha Lambda, University of Florida
Loren B. Bensley, Jr. Gamman of the Year Award, Julia Morrison, Epsilon Xi, Salisbury University
Mohammad R. Torabi Best Student Paper, Eric Conrad and Sengdhuan Defibaugh-Chavez, The University of Alabama
Outstanding Chapter Sponsor of the Year Award, Dr. Trent Applegate, Nu, Indiana University
Robert J. Synovitz Distinguished Service Award, Dr. Liliana Rojas-Guyler, Gamma Eta, University of Cincinnati
Honor Award, Dr. Judith K. Luebke, Beta Kappa, Minnesota State University
W.E. Schaller Presidential Citation, Dr. Jodi Brookins-Fisher, Central Michigan University
W.E. Schaller Presidential Citation In Memory of Loren B. Bensley Jr.
W.E. Schaller Presidential Citation In Memory of Mark Temple

Alpha Pi, Texas A & M University
Gamma Mu, Western Michigan University – Kalamazoo

Anne Deschamps, SUNY Buffalo State
Richelle Filipello, SUNY Cortland
Alex Vaezazizi, San Diego State University
Anita Hodge, Mississippi University for Women
Brianna Konrad, Indiana University
Cailyn Schroeder, Montana State University
Candice Leigh Travis, Fairmont State University
Cassidy Verdi, University of West Florida
Daniel Wickson, Western Connecticut State University
Davon Washington, North Carolina Central University
Erica Lundak, Kennesaw State University
Francheska Elliott, University of North Carolina Greensboro
James Pawlyk, Malone University
Janelle Lawson, Liberty University
Jean Newell, University of North Florida
Jennifer M. Smith, Weber State University
Karlie Kjerstad, Idaho State University
Katherine E. Guzowski, Hofstra University
Kelsie Coates, Utah Valley University
Madison Lind, Western Washington University
Marjorie Hannah Driscoll, University of Kansas
Meaghan Starr, Eastern Kentucky University
Mikaela Becker, University of Alabama
Morgan Drexler, University of Wisconson La Cross
Natalie Brooks, Ohio State University
Nicole Key, University of Cincinnati
Nikki Turnbough, Texas A&M University
Olivia Lada, The University of Scranton
Regina Acciaio, The College at Brockport
Sarah Bernimgham, Illinois State University
Susan Caman, Truman State University
Tanner Barton, Ball State University
Torie M. Keeton, State University of New York at Potsdam
Whitney Holeva , orthern Arizona University
Whitney Pollard, Temple University
Babie Yang, Minnesota State University, Mankato
Bessie Leyble, California State University, Dominguez Hills
Grant N. Thompson, University of Central Oklahoma
Kaila Sharp, Eastern Illinois University
Kaitlyn Brown, Coastal Carolina University
Lauren St. Pierre, Salisbury University
Lea Lena, University of Florida
Lindsay Logan Allen, University of North Carolina Wilmington
Maria Jose Rosado-Cupul, University of Northern Iowa
Megan Kaiser, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Miranda McDowell, Western Michigan University
Molly Hutchison, Central Michigan University
Shannon K. Weaver, University of Utah
Sumerlin Criswell, University of Central Arkansas
Whitney Thornton, Georgia Southern University


Psychometric Support of the School Climate Measure in a Sample of Appalachian Youth – Shay Daily (West Virginia University)

Assessing Disparity in Positive Outcomes among Service-Learning Participants – Eric Conrad (University of Alabama)

Emerging themes to attain lower attrition rates in a web-based intervention – Matthew Moyer (SUNY Cortland)

Bridging the Gap Between Perceptions and Reality: Perceptions of Homelessness vs. National Statistics of Homelessness in a Southeastern Coastal Community – Kerry Dittmeier (Coastal Carolina University)

Health Equity: A case study of patient food insecurity in a Honduran community hospital – Brian Miller (Kent State University)

Speed Dating, Instagram, and Yoga: Lessons Learned Using Innovative Strategies to Promote Healthy Relationships and Self Care Among College Students – Amanda Lynch (University of Cincinnati)

Planning, Communicating, and Using Technology to Develop an Effective ESG Chapter: Lessons Learned from Gamma Eta – Amanda Lynch (University of Cincinnati)

Multidisciplinary Endeavors: Working Together to Support Women Mothering While Experiencing Abuse – Kelly Bentley (University of Maine)

Bringing Campus Representatives Together for Health Education: Lessons Learned from a Multidisciplinary Panel Discussion and Campus-Wide Education for Healthy Eating on a Budget – Amanda Lynch (University of Cincinnati)


Eta Sigma Gamma’s 50th Anniversary: A Reflection on the Past and a Vision of the Future – Alan Sofalvi (SUNY Cortland)

Raising the minimum age of sale on tobacco and tobacco-related products: Recommendations on collaboration and advocacy for Eta Sigma Gamma members and community partners. – Mallory Rinckey (University of Toledo)

Career Pathways for Health Promotion Students: Fitting into the New Health Care Team – Joanna (Jodi) DeMarco (Cleveland State University)

Utilizing Cultural Plunges to Prepare Pre-Service Teachers for Diversity in School and Classroom Settings – Meagan Shipley (Texas A&M University)


Amos Aduroja
Denise Amschler
Trent Applegate
Loren B. Bensley
Bill Bock
Jodi Brookins-Fisher
Jeff Clark
Kathleen Conley
Randy Cottrell
Carolyn Cox
Steve Dorman
Rick Eberst
Marianne Fraunkenecht
Herb Jones
Judith Luebke
Beverly Mahoney
Kelli McCormack-Brown
James McKenzie
Beth McNeill
Ranjita Misra
Holly Moses
Irene O’Boyle
Roberta Ogletree
Sheila Patterson
Morgan Pigg, Jr.
Keely Rees
Barbara Rienzo
Lili Rojas-Guyler
Denise Seabert
Warren Schaller
Debra Sutton
Robert Synovitz
Amy Thompson
Mohammad Torabi
Susan Ward
Kelly Wilson
Joseph Visker

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Fellows-1200-1-1024x526.jpg